I'm a Newbie here so hi C:

camelle

May 30, 2012
north carolina
just found this place today so hi! Im Camelle. I currently only have one little common pleco in my 75 gallon but I hope to get more soon. He has no name yet but he's so cute! I'm sure it won't take long to name him!

camelle

May 30, 2012
north carolina
He's a cutie. Looks a bit hungry though:)
I'm going to get him some algae wafers later today. I tried to feed him some potato last night. I read somewhere on here they liked them but he didn't touch it. But I'm pretty sure it killed my little cardinal tetras that I've had for a month. I bought it for my mom. She's definitely not gonna be happy about it.

Last edited:

beencees

Nov 5, 2011
Brisbane
They do eat all sorts. It's surprising what some people get them to eat. Most of my plecs mainly seem to go for zucchini and i have trouble convincing them that anything else might be nice as well. Personally i blanch it which also makes it easier to pop the seeds out so they don't make such a mess in the tank but alot of people just stick a spoon in it and drop it in raw. Cucumber, peas (yep, just normal people peas), pumpkin, lettuce and sweet potato are just some of the other veggies i know they are reported to eat.
Don't worry if he doesn't get too excited about it straight away, sometimes they take awhile before they realise it's food. Just be sure to remove any uneaten food in the morning. I'm sure he will love the algae wafers though.
They're great critters and he will soon get used to you being the source of food and be sitting waiting for you to come at his dinner time:)
You will have to post some pics for us as he grows:thumbup:

camelle

May 30, 2012
north carolina