Common Plec - Is he poorly?

bandi2709

Oct 4, 2010
Essex
Hi, I am new to this, so please be gentle! I have a common plec. He (and I assume its a he) is 13 years old and has been in our tank on his own for the last 10 years - we have tried to add other fish, but he's quite territorial!

anyway, for the last week, he is off his food (he gets an algae wafer every couple of days), and he is spending most of his time up towards the top of the tank sucked onto the side, but bent over in an arc. He is always bent over on the same side - seems unable to bend over the other way. He has his side protruding out of the water. The more water you have in the tank, he just moves up with it so his side sticks out of the water. He is not really moving very much, spending very long periods in the one place, but it is the fact that he is almost bent over double that is strange. It looks like his tail is broken - it just hangs down - although obviously it is not. He is not very agile when he moves/swim - it just looks extremely awkward for him and his balance doesn't look right - he's all over the place.

We have done a 3/4 water change. The temperature is perfect. He's a very tolerant plec and has always been very amenable to most tank conditions - can't be doing that bad as he's 13 years old! We use an Eheim filtration system.

Can fish have strokes? because if he was human that is what you would probably think he'd had by looking at him. Is he dying? Don't really know what to do next.

HELP! please .....very worried about him.

Last edited:

RobHarrison

Mar 29, 2010
Bolton, NW Uk
Hi bandi has he ballooned up at all? would be helpful if you could show a photo of the fish. I hope people can advise you on a cure to the fishes illness 13yrs is a very long time

bandi2709

Oct 4, 2010
Essex