Strange red mark

chibi020

Sep 25, 2009
Thames Ditton
Hi everyone.

This forum seems really helpful! I'm a bit stuck at identifying what one of my plecos have. I'm relatively new to keeping them but I did keep two a long time ago. I've recently been battling with ammonia levels in my tank but they've now bottomed out along with nitrate and all the other chemical parameters I measure.

I thought it might originally be an ammonia burn, but it only appeared *after* my ammonia levels hit 0. [the highest ammonia level I ever reached was just over 1).

Ammonia:0
Nitrate:0
Nitrite:0
Size of tank: 25litre
Oxygen: Haven't measured but my tank is very bubbly, I have a pump which can deal up to 45 litres
Temp: 74F [I'm planning on making it a community tank]
Substrate: Large polished gravel [wanna keep those barbels looking smexy]
Plants: Artificial but have been cleaned
Rock ornament: Bought from Petsathome [said its been treated and is safe]
Fish: 4 Plecos; as a beginning to stock my tank. Had 5 but returned one after he showed immediate signs of swim bladder problems.
Condition: Ravenous and all are swimming healthily around the tank, foraging for food always.
Feed: Half a Plecostomus tablet in the morning, half at night. Once or twice a week bloodworms.

The one in question: Very large female; eating very healthily, isn't behaving oddly but has a strange red mark on her fin. I thought it might be an ulcer but it isn't internal like the pictures I see.

Sorry for the shocking photo quality, my camera cant deal with close ups!

Hope its clear though, its slightly red in a little circle.

Any help on this would be most gratefully recieved!

Chibi xxx

Doodles

Retired Staff
Apr 8, 2009
hey welcome to the forum.

What are the plecs you have?

Are you sure its 25 litre tank? thats pretty small.

Has the tank cycled? you should have some kind of reading for nitrate if so.

The redness, does it look raw?

Irene0100

UK Support Team
May 14, 2009
Norfolk, UK