Bashed and fungussed L201

Brengun

Global Moderators
Staff member
Apr 22, 2009
Burrum Heads, Queensland, Australia
I found one of my L201 really chewed up and fungus has set in already.
I took him/her out and touched the fungus area and it slurried off taking any adipose fin left with it.
I daubed betadine(liquid iodine) on it to stop bleeding and kill the fungus left.
Blew on it to dry as much as I could and dropped Prime liquid over the top to stimulate a slime coat if theres any chance of growing one back.

I medicated the tank with Protozin and a bit of aquarium salt 1teasp for good measure. Tank is well airated.

The fish seemed pretty mobile (you would be too with your butt on fire) and set itself up behind a cave where the powerhead could blow some good water circulation over it.

I am not good at doing these things at 2am. It coulda shown itself during the day when my mind is functioning lol.

As you can see, its a pretty bad injury and deep. Fins crossed it pulls thru.

C8lyn

Aug 3, 2010
Toowoomba, Qld
Owie! The poor thing!! Looks very uncomfortable!
Hopefully it'll pull through for you. You did very well with your sick zeb so fins crossed this little guy turns out the same.

bigbird

Pleco Profiles Moderator - RIP FRIEND
Sep 9, 2010
Sydney, AUSTRALIA
hey sorry for that. I think you did all the right things and hope he will pull through. so far you have had the majic touch. must have been a tough battle, as he would not let his cave go. poor thing. cheers jk :thumbup:

Brengun

Global Moderators
Staff member
Apr 22, 2009
Its still kicking this morning although breathing fast. It might be just fear of what I did to him but he's bright and alert and not on your nelly is he going to let me get any photos atm.
I might do a wc this evening just to keep the water good and add the Protozin for fungus treatment, some BigL levamisole for its immune stumulating qualities and some prime for that slime coat again.