Profiles remain along with their posts as a permanent record.
I don't think any one has ever had their profile actually deleted.
If you no longer wish to participate in the forum don't log on.
You can adjust your profile settings through user cp in the top left of the screen.
Hope this helps.
Plecoplanet since 22nd April, 2009.